Board of Directors

Cathy O’Connor (Chair)

Appointed as Chair in 2020

Cathy O’Connor is the Chief Executive Officer of oOH! Media and joined the Sony Foundation Board as a Director in 2017. Cathy was formerly the CEO of Nova Entertainment for over 10 years.

Stephen Basil-Jones

Appointed as a Director in 2016

Stephen Basil-Jones is the Managing Director and Executive Vice-President of Sony Pictures Releasing Australia & New Zealand. He has held numerous industry positions over the years including: Chairman of the Motion Pictures Distributor’s Association (MPDAA) in 2001, 2009 and 2015, and is a member of British Academy of Film & Television (BAFTA-UK).

Yuzo Otsuki

Appointed as a Director in 2019

Yuzo Otsuki is the Managing Director of Sony Australia and New Zealand, a position he was appointed to in April 2019. Otsuki-san has a wealth of experience gained during an impressive 25 year career with Sony.

Goncalo Fialho 

Appointed as a Director in 2020

Goncalo Fialho is the General Manager of Sony Interactive Entertainment (PlayStation) Australia and New Zealand. He joined Sony Interactive Entertainment in 2004 and held various sales and marketing roles in Iberia and Italy before moving to Australia.  

Mark Fennessy AM

Appointed as a Director in 2018

Mark Fennessy is the Chairman of Helium Ltd. As the former CEO of production and content powerhouse, Endemol Shine Australia, Mark has overseen an extraordinary slate of television franchises and super brands.

Dr David Rosengren 

Appointed as a Director in 2020

David is a Specialist Emergency Medicine physician with more than 20 years of clinical and leadership experience in both public and private hospitals. As the Executive Director of Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital, he oversees the continued legacy of more than 150 years of health service from the largest hospital in Australia while continuing to work as a clinician in the Emergency and Trauma Centre.

Honorary Patrons

John Kirby AM

Patron of the Melbourne You Can Centre

Mr. Kirby has held a wide number of executive positions in cinema exhibition, film distribution, radio, theme parks, construction and strategy over his 45 years within Village Roadshow. He is currently Chairman of Village Roadshow Corporation Pty, Ltd. and awarded Honorary Doctorate, Griffith University.  Served as Chairman from 2015-2019.

Chris White

Patron of the Brisbane You Can Centre

Chris has worked in the sports and talent management and marketing field for over 18 years and has a well-earned reputation and standing within the industry. He currently sits on the board of the Queensland Reds and Sony Foundation. White is also the CEO of International Quarterback. Served as a Director from 2010-2019. 

Stay in touch with all the latest news and updates – subscribe to our newsletter